Tasmanian Landcare Gathering and Awards a Huge Success!

On Saturday 2 December Landcarers from all around the state gathered in Launceston for the Tasmanian Landcare Gathering. The forecast all week called for rain but nonetheless over 90 landcarers piled into buses in Launceston ready for a day of field trips and the awards lunch. 

There were three field trips; Westbury, Trevallyn and West Tamar. Each field trip visited two sites where local landcarers shared their stories about 



Click here for a photo gallery of the field trips
Click here for a photo gallery of the Awards lunch



2017 Tasmanian Landcare Award Winners


Adam Holmstrom - Young Landcare Leader Award presented by Sharon Smith, Board Member Landcare Tasmania




 Andrew Potter (left) on behalf of Turners Beach Coastcare - Sure Gro Coastcare Award presented by Dale Tunstall of Sure Gro



Kerrie and Wolfie (left) Participants of Clean Rivers and Fert$mart Projects - Australian Governement Excellence in Sustainable Farm Practices Award presented by Jan Davis, Board Member of Landcare Australia 



Sally Brown (middle) representing Glenorchy Reconcilliation Group - Rio Tinto Indigenous Land Management Award. Presented by Nala Mansell (left) Pakana Palawa woman and Sam Duncan representing Rio Tinto



Helen Eastburn (right) - Individual Landcarer Award presented by Jan Davis, board member Landcare Australia



Rene Reichart of Kingborough Council - Australian Government Partnerships for Landcare Award presented by Jeremy Rockliff Deputy Premier of Tasmania, Minister for Primary Industries and Water



Tim van Winden (middle) representing Youngtown Primary School - Junion Landcare Team Award presented by Jeremy Rockliff Deputy Premier of Tasmania, Minister for Primary Industries and Water



Tamar Island Wetland Volunteer CAres Group - Fairfax Landcare Community Group Award